Nuffic’s Orange Knowledge Programme | Tanzania

3 days left


The enactment of the ‘Media Services Act’ and the ‘Access to Information Act’ in 2016 by the current government were major developments in the legal and regulatory framework in Tanzania. The ‘Media Service Act’ replaced the ‘Newspaper Act’ from 1976 and the Tanzania ‘News Agency Act’ from 1976. One implication of the ‘Media Service Act’ is that all practicing journalists in Tanzania must obtain Board accreditation and be members of the Media Council. Both bodies are independent. Their board members are appointed by and accountable to the Minister of Information. To be able to be accredited, a journalist needs to have at least a diploma level to be allowed to continue to work in the sector. Apart from the need of having a diploma, which is the minimum requirement, most journalists also lack the necessary skills to enable them to operate professionally.


The purpose of this call is to identify, train and mentor a new generation of journalists and media leaders, open to broad and transparent news broadcasting. The focus will therefore be on skill development by offering tailormade training(s) concerning the following areas;

  • Storytelling in journalism
  • Investigative journalism
  • Data-driven journalism

The proposed TMT+ should follow-up recent developments in the media sector and look for opportunities to cooperate with relevant Dutch and Tanzanian stakeholders and initiatives. The training(s) will result in the development of a training curriculum which is fostering a mindset for a future generation that is innovative and forward thinking. The intervention should pay particular attention to the crosscutting themes in the Orange Knowledge Programme namely gender, youth employment and entrepreneurship (particularly within sector specific reporting i.e Renewable energy or Food and Nutrition Security).


Eligibility for OKP Group Training Courses grants extends to Dutch institutions providing secondary and higher vocational and academic education or other types of organisations that provide educational training courses and that also contribute to strengthening of the priority themes in the countries on the Country List. These institutions must deliver the training themselves; intermediary organisations are not eligible. The institutions must have sufficient organisational and financial capacity to run a training course. This can be demonstrated using a COCA that is assessed as positive by Nuffic. The organisations must also have demonstrable experience in providing the desired training course.